Indian photographers greet Europe

Posted at 30 May 2012

Two Indian teenage photographers will travel to Europe to tell the unique story behind their fairtrade greetings cards: How by taking pictures for their own greeting cards they where able to improve their life and pay for their own education. During the last three years the teenagers sold more then 1 million cards in 14 countries. Now they have become inspiring examples for their surrounding showing that they have the will and creativity to break the chain of poverty themselves.

The teenage photographers from India will travel through the Netherlands, Germany, France, Belgium and Switzerland taking with them a photo exhibition, a documentary about their lives and participating in different public events. This will take place between the 11th of June and the 3rd of July. On the 12th of June there will be a kick-off event for the tour in Cafe Noorderlicht on the NDSM terrain in Amsterdam.

Download your invitation for this event here.

Both teenagers of 16 and 19 years old live in the Nagwa slum of the Indian city of Varanasi. It is in this part of the city that many inhabitants come from the lower castes in Indian society of which some earn an income collecting animal dung and leather tanners. Many of the youngsters are forced to work at a young age to supplement the family income. This means there is no time and no money to go to school. With FairMail they earn the money that is necessary to go to school by themselves.

FairMail is a company that produces fair trade greeting cards in Peru, India and soon in Morocco too! The pictures on the FairMail cards are taken by deprived teenagers from Peru, India and Morocco. On the back of each card you can see the name, age, email, age and picture of the teenager who took the picture. FairMail provides these teenagers with free photography training, part-time work, health insurance and guidance in making their future plans. The teenagers receive 50% of the profit made from the sale of their own cards to finance their housing and education. FairMail is a monitored member of the World Fair Trade Organization.

Schedule FairMail Promotion Tour June 2012

You are more then welcome to visit any of the activities below:

Date Activity
mon 11 June Leave Delhi, arrival in Amsterdam (05.45 am), Relax
Tue 12 June Amsterdam tour, visit World Press Photo 19.30 Kick-off event Café Noorderlicht, NDSM terrain, Amsterdam
Wed 13 June Waalwijk, Context Cards logistics & market research
Thurs 14 June The Hague: ASN Bank office Delft: Stanislas College, Delft worldshop & presentation
Fri 15 June Amstedam: Greetz headquarters & market research & interview
Sat 16 June Festival Mundial Tilburg – photo exhibition
Sun 17 June Festival Mundial Tilburg – photo exhibition
Mon 18 June Culemborg: Visit Cash & Carry Fair Trade Original. Travel to Hamburg, relax & welcome party
Tues 19 June Hamburg & Kiel: shop visit
Wed 20 June Munster & Halle: visit shop and distribution center
Thurs 21 June Wurzburg: shop visit and interview
Fri 22 June Geneve: Visit to Co-op supermarket in Zurich and interview
Sat 23 June Freiburg: Visit shop
Sun 24 June Freiburg: Visit Europapark
Mon 25 June Travel to Paris
Tues 26 June Free in Paris
Wed 27 June Paris: meet La Carterie marketing team, photographer and interview
Thurs 28 June Reims: meet sales team Reims & interview
Fri 29 June Rennes: meet sales team Rennes & interview
Sat 30 June Back to Amsterdam and free
Sun 1 July Amsterdam: Free
Mon 2 July Amsterdam: write marketing report and make presentation for FairMail India team
Tues 3 July Amsterdam: Departure to (11.30 am), arrival India (22.50 pm)
Tags: Anil rao, Dhiraj, France, Germany, Promotion, Switzerland

Share


Comments